Articles of Interest March 4-11

So. This week was fun.

I spent last Saturday at the Kite Festival and had a great time! They say that over 20,000 people were there and I can believe it. When I left at 2:30 there were cars lined up for miles waiting to get in.

I spent the day Wednesday getting a crash course in the mobile web. I watched a great video by Luke Wroblewski about designing for the mobile web first. I’m no designer or web developer but I got a lot out of his presentation. The thinking (as best I can understand) is, designing for mobile will make you really think about what you want in your site. It should help you focus on what is important and what isn’t. It’s a good talk. So if you’ve got 54 minutes take a look.

After the video I watched an online demo of Boopsie. I set this up a few weeks ago for my boss and others so they could get an idea about what Boopsie does. I like the product and think we can use it to improve our connections with people with smartphones. The demo went well and I think ‘the decision makers’ liked it. We will see what happens. I’d like to get it.

Then in the afternoon I watched this webinar by ALA Techsource. It was about making mobile services work for your library. I enjoyed it but didn’t really much new information from it.

I took Tuesday off to hang out with my parents. I went in late on Thursday so I could go to a special event at my youngest daughter’s school.

The ACC Tournament is this week. Go Heels!

For this week’s links I’ve got more eBook posts (sorry I’m trying to learn more), plus one about website redesign.

Aaron Schmidt makes the case for iterative web design. Instead of a complete redesign make small improvements frequently. Something for us to think about as we discuss making changes to our website.

Om Malik discusses the ‘unbundling’ of media. He compares it to what happened to the telecom industry in the 1990’s.

Just as telecoms of the past maintained their near monopoly by controlling the last mile of the network, the media companies maintained their money machine by controlling the distribution network: trucks, radio waves and television frequencies. The arrival of cable loosened their grip, but not as much.

Then came the Internet, which meant the distribution network was no longer under control of a select few.

ReadWriteWeb asks the question I’ve been asking myself.

This post caused a bit of negative feedback from librarians. Justified or not, I think the points he makes are valid from a publisher’s point of view. If we are going to figure out a solution to eBook distribution we should be learning as much as we can about the publisher’s position.

This post does a great job of discussing the main points libraries are facing with eBooks. Then a plan is actually provided. The plan looks good and I like the vision. My question (as always) is how do we get started? It is a good idea and should be investigated.

Jessamyn West provides her views on a recent meeting she attended about the Digital Public Library of America. I’m happy she was there. I’m pretty sure she represented libraries and librarians very well. The DPLA is something I really have to learn more about. It is in very early stages but it has interest from many different people and organizations.

Leave a Reply

