Confessions and links

I have a confession. I don’t really like eBooks.

Over the past year I have been reading on various devices (Nook, Kindle, Sony Reader, iPad, iPhone, BlackBerry) and I’ve discovered something. I like paper better. Don’t confuse this with a dismissal of a format. I see definite benefits in eBooks: portability, having multiple titles in a singe device, instant access to a huge variety of reading options to name a few. I simply prefer reading a paper book. It may be because I read via a screen almost all day at work. When I want to enjoy reading I want to get away from screens entirely. This is personal preference only and it only reflects how I like to read for fun, not work.

I’m not a fan of eReaders either. I think tablets will probably win over eReaders eventually. My opinion only. Based on nothing but my experience using the devices listed above.

In other news…it’s NCAA Tournament time. That means any weekend reading will probably be ignored while I try to watch as much basketball as possible. Go Heels! If they make it to the Sweet Sixteen I’ll be happy.

For this week’s list of links I tried  to get away from Harper Collins and eBooks but couldn’t quite do it. But there is only 1.5 posts that deal with that issue.

  • A great, reasonable post by Kate Sheehan in Publisher’s Weekly. She outlines librarian’s general position on eBooks well. We want to work with publishers to find a way to lend eBooks, protect copyright, and reward successful authors.

We’re For You, Not Against You: A Librarian’s Take On E-book Lending

  • This partnership is very interesting and something to keep an eye on. I would like to see more of these and would like to learn more about this one. I wonder how they got started? Who knew who? How did they connect? How long did they negotiate? What did they discuss? Lots of questions…as usual.

Library eBook Partnerships

  • Dan Blank has written a great post about succeeding. This quote really caught my eye:

And I can’t help but feel that ruthlessness is the easy way out, and too easily justified. That a truly visionary business, a truly confident business succeeds because it chooses to do right by the communities it serves… That the story of a company represents the values of a company. Not what they SAY their values are, but what they actually do.

Must You Be Ruthless in Order to Succeed?

  • Another introduction to Near Field Communication. It may be a few years away from widespread adoption but its potential is exciting.

NFC in 2011: What’s NFC, and Why Do I Care?

  • Haydn Shaughnessy has given up his mobile phone and discusses how the first month has been. This interests me. I’m not sure I could give up my phone…it’s my ‘second brain’. Saving money sounds good though. So does occasionally disconnecting and thinking.

Why I dumped my smartphone (and what it feels like after a month)

Leave a Reply

