Learning To Make

The latest thing to capture my imagination is 3D printing. It’s fantastic and the possibilities are almost limitless. I have been reading about them for a while and kinda dismissed them as something out of my range of knowledge. I thought they were something that only engineers and mechanical minded people could use. I was wrong.

I have learned a lot in the last few weeks about 3D printing and I’ve just started. A few weeks ago, I got lucky and was able to attend a workshop on 3D printing at a local private school. The person leading the workshop was from MakerBot and there were 3 MakerBots available for us to use. It was a great experience. I had a great time, learned a lot and now I want a MakerBot!

I can’t afford one now but they are coming down in price and I believe that I will have one in my house within 5-10 years. The uses around the house are mind-numbing. Need a spoon? Print it out. Need a case for your phone? Print it out? Want a chess set? Print it out. You get the idea. The great thing is, we are at the beginning (the extremely early stages) of this technology.

I read a great post on Gigaom today. Bre Pettis (Co-Founder and CEO of MakerBot) was interviewed and he thinks we are at the Apple II stage of 3D printing. In other words, we’re at the clunky, this is very cool but it will get way better stage. The current MakerBot Replicator is easier to use and is more ‘average person friendly’ than the previous MakerBot products. My guess is the next one will be even better. And they aren’t the only people making 3D printers. Just the most popular…for now. I think 3D printers have the potential to be like microwave ovens. There will be one in every house and they will transform how people carry out their daily lives.

I’m very new to this so there is a lot for me to learn. I’m looking forward to learning. I can’t wait to see what will come next. This should be great.

 

Leave a Reply

