Whispersync for Voice is very cool!

I’m a big fan of audiobooks. I listen to them a lot. Walking the dog, doing the dishes, driving, just about any chance I get. It’s a great way to ‘read’. And, let’s face it, as a father of two kids I’m tired at the end of the day and fall alseep quickly when I read.

I joined Audible last year as a way to supplement the audiobooks I was getting from the library via OverDrive and OneClickdigital. I like the service and enjoy the extras you get every now and then from them. Last week Amazon announced Whispersync for Voice and gave Audible members some free samples to try. The samples are all classics so the books are free anyway but the audiobooks usually cost between $5 and $20. I thought I’d give it a try and I must admit, I’m impressed.

I’ve always liked Whispersync with Kindle books. Remembering where I left off on one device and picking up at that point on another? It’s magic to me. How they made the magic work from audio to text? No idea. But it is very, very cool.

I downloaded Treasure Island as an experiment. I haven’t read it yet. (Don’t scold me! I’m catching up on my classics.) I started listening to it in the Audible app yesterday. Got a few chapters in. Stopped it. Opened the book on the Kindle app for the iPad and was reading where I left off on the audiobook in seconds. I read a little, stopped then opened the audiobook and was listening where I left off reading. Fascinating!

I buy very few eBooks and none of the ones I’ve purchased have been from Amazon. That may change. They have over 14,000 titles that utilize Whispersync for Voice. And that number will probably increase quickly. So, I can purchase a Kindle edition of a book and add the audiobook version of that book at a discounted price. Some of the discounts are $3.95, some are more.  For me, as an audiobook fan, it makes me consider buying the text version of a book. It would be nice to have a book in text and audio for a reasonable price. Being able to pick up where you left off on either version makes it a very tempting offer.

I may even consider buying one of the Kindle Fires because they can play the audiobook while you are reading. I may not but it’s making me think about it. I wasn’t last week.

At least I’ve got a few classic audiobooks to listen to.

Leave a Reply

